Twisted Chick

Time

Being a mother is the most difficult thing I’ve ever done. Those of you with small children, enjoy this time with them. There’s something to be said for being able to control when and what your child eats, where they go, when they sleep, what they watch, etc. Yeah, I know as parents we are supposed to regulate these things for as long as our kids are at home. But, let’s be real. We can’t be there every second of the day. We have no control over who they talk to in school or what they do at someone elses house. How I long for the days when something as simple as a new pair of Power Rangers shoes could light up their faces. What would I give to go back and spend an extra five minutes with them at the park or let them rollerblade in the basement. Or, read another bedtime story. Life was so much simpler then. It breaks my heart to think of all of the things I didn’t do, was too busy to do or had no interest in doing. I hope they don’t think about those things.

It seems silly to think about things which aren’t possible. But, I can’t help it. I would change so many things if I could. My God, time passes by so quickly and life moves so fast. I wish I had taken the time to enjoy the little moments. I wish I hadn’t wished the days away. I wish I could go back.

Written by bibi

December 7, 2007 at 11:19 am

Posted in 1

Tagged with , , , ,

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. well, you can’t go back, but you can definitely move forward. i’m sure there are plenty more memories to make with your children.

    mamasgotmoxie

    December 7, 2007 at 12:42 pm

  2. Make new memories! Start now =)

    Tasha

    December 7, 2007 at 10:30 pm

  3. Me, too. I sometimes feel so lost; how is it possible that this much time has passed?

    Devilish Southern Belle

    December 8, 2007 at 4:08 am

  4. I could have written this post word for word. :(

    Well, except for the rollerskating in the basement part, we don’t have basements here. ;)

    Friglet

    December 8, 2007 at 12:42 pm

  5. Very eloquently said! When kids are small, the days are long but the years go fast. As they get bigger, the days zip by too. I guess its just part of the human condition to learn everything by hindsight, isn’t it?

    Chris

    December 8, 2007 at 1:58 pm

  6. I agree with you, I have those same thoughts very often, it should get easier as they get older, but not for me, I miss my daughter being a little girl, safely living with me and knowing where she was at all times, this empty nest thing…it’s hard.

    MissPrissy

    December 10, 2007 at 11:59 pm

  7. Took the words right out of my mouth. Being a Mom really is sooooo hard. I have been having a hard time with it lately and the scary part is, the worst is yet to come… Scary.

    Chrissie

    December 11, 2007 at 12:12 am

  8. Aww! Thank you for writing this as hard as it may have been. It has reminded me, today, to take an extra moment with my 2 year old today to cherish how he is right now.

    Kathy

    December 11, 2007 at 1:26 pm

  9. I completely understand what you say. My own seem to have grown up too fast. Am glad I now have a chance with my baby now..

    rads

    December 11, 2007 at 8:40 pm

  10. This is a great post and my girlfriend that has a 16 yr. old keeps saying the same thing. I think that’s why I keep trying to back away from the virtual world… Some days I’m like ‘what the hell am I doing sitting around in this fake world while my real kids are getting older by the second’
    Thanks for writing this -I need that reminder every once in a while. I’m going to go watch something with them right now…

    ALa

    December 12, 2007 at 6:38 pm

  11. thanks for the reminder

    countramblings

    December 15, 2007 at 5:02 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

